Back to overall view

Announcement: The prize winners of the International Composition Competition Lied Duo 2020

Gianluca Iadema; Foto: privat

The composers Luciano Correa Barraza (Chile) and Gianluca Iadema (Italy) convinced the international jury with their works "Vértigo" and "Wirbel". For this year’s Composition Competition for Lied Duo at the KUG were entered a total of 107 compositions from composers of 35 nations (103 out of this were accepted). The world premieres of the prize winning pieces will take place on February 10 and 11, 2021 at MUMUTH as part of the 11th International Chamber Music Competition "Franz Schubert and Modern Music".

created on:

In the context of the 11th International Chamber Music Competition "Franz Schubert and Modern Music" (FS&MM) 2021, the University of Music and Performing Arts Graz (KUG) made a call for the International Composition Competition Lied Duo 2020 – for the first time worldwide. (As already reported here!)

Now the prize-winning works of this competition have been announced:

Vértigo (Text: “Vértigo” by Alessandra Molina) - Luciano CORREA BARRAZA (Chile)
(Text: “Genesung” by Alessandra Molina) - Gianluca IADEMA (Italy)

The two prizewinning works will be made available to all lied duos, who take part at the 11th International Chamber Music Competition FS&MM 2021, as compulsory pieces for the 2nd round. Consequently, the works will premiere on the 10th respectively 11th February 2021 at the MUMUTH.

About the selection process

In a first step, a selection of 27 works was being made by KUG professor, pianist and jury chair Joseph Breinl together with mezzo-soprano Klaudia Tandl and KUG professor for Composition Christian Utz. In a second step, the composers Johanna Doderer (Austria) and Annette Schlünz (Germany), composer and pianist Steffen Schleiermacher (Germany) as well as KUG professor and Baritone Holger Falk (Germany) discussed the selection and decided in a jury meeting on June 24, 2020, to award two equivalent prizewinning works.

The composer and juror Annette Schlünz emphasises the positive aspect that this competition brings about new repertoire for the genre Lied, based on lyrics by contemporary poetesses. She comments that as a jury member, she enjoyed to read and play the compositions and to picture the performances by different singers and voices. Jury member Steffen Schleiermacher, composer and pianist, also positively comments on the high level and variety of the submissions.

Biographies of the prize winners

Luciano CORREA BARRAZA is a Chilean composer, born in 1995 in Antofagasta. He started studying musical composition in 2017, at the PontificiaUniversidad Católica in Santiago de Chile, and studies with Miguel Farías and Aliocha Solovera. Between 2006 and 2013 he also studied violin, theory and harmony; between 2015 and 2016 he studied sound design, film scoring, jazz, and improvisation. Since 2017 he has been working as a musical producer in different projects, and as a composer in audio-visual media. In 2018, his work “Espejo y bandada” for oboe and string orchestra was awarded with the 2nd prize in the 5th Composition Competition of the Marga Marga Orchestra. In the same year, his string quartet “un dos tres por mi y todos mis compañeros”was awarded with the 1st prize at the internal competition of his home university, and his work was selected to be performed in the Contemporary Music Festival 2019 of the same university. In 2019 he received the 3rd prize at the Composition Competition of the Orquesta Nuevo Mundo, for his work “Rasgado” for baroque orchestra. In the same year he wasselected as an outstanding student in composition and awarded with a scholarship from the Music Institute ofhis home university, and also honoured by thefoundation Amigos del Municipal of the Municipal Theatre of Santiago de Chile.

Gianluca IADEMA is an Italian pianist, composer and audio-visual artist, focused on the exploration of digital and analogue imperfection, the idea of “absent matter” and transparency. His research has led him to explore an artistic dimension that, abandoning the idea of the division of the human senses, presents an independent art form in which even sound can be perceived as an object. Iadema graduated in piano in 2016 with honours at the Conservatory Luca Marenzio in Brescia, under the guidance of Giampaolo Stuani and Maurizio Zana and later with Cyprien Katsaris. He studied composition and electronic music with Giancarlo Facchinetti and Roberto di Filippo and currently attends the course of Composition under the guidance of Richard Dünser and the course of Computer Music under the guidance of Marko Ciciliani at the University of Music and Performing Arts Graz. In 2014 he received a scholarship as one of the best students of the Conservatory of his city, after winning the first prize in the Competition "Capitanio". Also in 2014, he attended the "Ferienkurse für Neue Musik" in Darmstadt, refining the compositional technique of electronic and contemporary music. In 2018 he was entrusted with the composition of the music for the opera 1918EINEERHEBUNG, directed by the Viennese director Hans Hoffer. In September 2019, his first audio-visual album for the important record company "Mille Plateaux" (Frankfurt/Germany) was released. Also in the same year, he began a collaboration with the Swiss singer, composer and teacher Franziska Baumann (Hochschule für Musik Bern), which will see its peak in the release of a second album "Noyaux".  In 2019 he was nominated "composer in residence" for the Italian ensemble "Dedalo", in 2020 he received the prestigious prize of the Italian foundation “Togni Cantoni Marca” as one of the most talented Italian artists. Also in 2020, Wien Modern commissioned him a piece for piano, video and electronics, to be performed in November 2020. Shortly, a new CD will be out on the label VMS, with a piece for piano he wrote and pieces from the composers Richard Dünser and Christoph Renhart.
Iadema has participated in numerous masterclasses of composition with great masters such as: Curtis Roads, Reiko Yamada, John Richards, Mauro Montalbetti, Kirsten Reese, and Darien Brito.

Further information can be found here!